DTSOI Teachers Heading to Chicago Conference
DTSOI Teachers Heading to Chicago Conference -- 

Don Tyson School of Innovation teachers Burl Sniff and Jessica Pena have each received a $2,000 sponsorship to attend the Computer Science Teachers Association Annual Conference July 14-17 in Chicago.

Arkansas Department of Education announced Feb. 15 that 18 Arkansas educators have been selected to receive sponsorships to assist educators with expanding their knowledge of computer science and give them the opportunity to network with other educators from around the world at the conference.

Sniff said he's looking forward to the impact of what he'll learn at the conference.

"I can honestly say that teaching computer science has been the most amazing part of my career as an educator thus far. It's barely been a school year, and I know I've really found my passion as an educator," he said. "This scholarship will hopefully open many doors and give me the network and tools to be the best CS teacher I can be. I hope to learn much and bring back everything to help foster and grow our program here at DTSOI."

Pena said it's an honor to receive the scholarship.

"As a first year teacher, I couldn't be more excited to network with other computer science educators," she said. "I have found a passion for education and sharing my love and interest of the CS field with my students. I have big plans for our computer science program at DTSOI and this opportunity will help bring my vision to life."

The complete list of scholarship recipients includes:

  • Carole Anderson, Bauxite School District
  • Phillip Blake, eStem Public Charter Schools
  • Robin Boerwinkle, Smackover-Norphlet School District
  • Eden Buergler, Fort Smith School District
  • Shanta Calhoun, Arkansas Lighthouse Academies
  • Rachel Fish, Magnolia School District
  • Chelsea Henderson, Earle School District
  • Elizabeth Hiers, Calico Rock School District
  • Valerie Hooten, Lonoke School District
  • Katelyn Kunz, Elkins School District
  • Vincent Mathews, Hot Springs School District
  • Michele Owen, Bryant School District
  • Jessica Pena, Springdale School District
  • Billie Reed, Eureka Springs School District
  • John Russell, Bentonville School District
  • Burl Sniff, Springdale School District
  • Jonathan Watson, Stuttgart School District
  • Bobby Young, Mountain Pine School District

The sponsorships were open to Arkansas K-12 public school teachers, librarians, curriculum coordinators, counselors and other educators who have demonstrated their commitment to technology integration and computer science education at their school or district. Educators were selected by an impartial committee of ADE employees and the statewide computer science specialists who reviewed all applications.

To receive a reimbursement of up to $2,000, selected educators will be required to attend the CSTA conference, participate in various conference and state delegation activities and submit a travel reimbursement request through the ADE.

Click Here for More Information About the Conference